A Strange Twist of Fate: An Introduction.

by theobfuscatedone

I have considered and discarded the idea of starting a blog numerous times for a variety of reasons.  Now, after a series of occurrences that have propelled me into a state of activism, it seems that starting a blog is the next logical step in my life.  Here are the ground rules:

– It would be best not to set your watch or calendar or any other time keeping device by my posts.  There is a world outside this blog, I live in it, and sometimes it is a time suck.

– In the unlikely event of a unifying theme presenting itself I will be as shocked as you.

– The most probable topics include, but are not limited to: ceramics, graduate school, knitting, literature, words, Oscar Wilde, and sarcasm.

– I apologize in advance for overly verbose posts.  I’m a wordy individual by nature and I’m not going to change that.  Perhaps I will attempt some sort of organization that would facilitate the dissemination of large amounts of information in easily digestible bites.  Perhaps not.

– There will be profanity.

– In the highly likely event of sarcasm, I will alert the reader in some way so everyone can bask in the glory that is my particular brand of sarcasm.

– Ground rules are subject to change without notice.

Now that we have that sorted, let’s move on to the introduction promised in the title.

I am in my late twenties and am currently a graduate student.  I am studying to get my MA in Humanities.  After that, an MFA in ceramics.  After that, teaching ceramics until the arthritis or angry mob stops me.  My life has been one strange twist of fate after another and it only seems right to share the bizarre with the world.  I revel in the absurd, delight in the obscure, and generally “fly my freak flag high” (say thank you to one of my friends for that.)  In graduate school my focus is on literature and ceramics.  I spend an obscene amount of time in the ceramics studio and, as a result, spend a good portion of my time covered head to toe in clay (seriously, head to toe.  I’ll show you pictures someday.)  I work primarily with porcelain and make just about anything that doesn’t have handles and isn’t a plate (handles are fussy and plates are boring.)  The time outside of the studio is spent reading and writing with some knitting and frolicking thrown in for a balanced life.  Those are the generalities.  Here are some specifics:

As I head into my second year of grad school, I am planning an art show with another student in my program.  She is also a good friend and quite possibly one of the nicest and most caring people in the world.  We have been working since January 2011 to secure a space on our campus.  We were working with the university and had reached a point where all that was left to do was sign an agreement that would guarantee us the space with certain conditions.  In the past two weeks a few things happened.  The person we had been working with failed to return any of our attempts to contact her.  Given that, I decided a visit to the president of our university was in order.  Somehow, the boss of the person we had been working with was informed of my mission.  She came to speak with me.  From that conversation I learned that the space we had been working 7 months for was not and never would be available for us to use.  I was also treated abominably by this person.   Despite the fairly diplomatic tone of this post, I was royally pissed.  Patience is not one of my strengths (huge understatement) and waiting for 7 months had required Herculean effort on my part.   We are still trying to secure our preferred space but our hope is dwindling.  We are exploring other options.  This blog is partially intended to chronicle the clusterfuck that is trying to secure a suitable venue for a final thesis show.  It’s other purpose is to show you pretty pictures of pottery and feed my rampant narcissism.

