Just So We’re Clear (from an overly cautious narrator)

by theobfuscatedone

I’ve had a number of ceramic teachers through the years.  This has exposed me to a number of different styles and ways to approach the creation of a ceramic piece.  I have been encouraged by these people to experiment and develop my own style.  My current teacher, who has been wonderfully supportive, has an entirely different throwing style than I.  Whenever other students ask me for help I tell them what I do and follow it up with something along the lines of, “That’s what works for me.  Try  it and tweak it to make it work for you.”  This is how I approach life.  What I do is what works for me.  I know that how I live is not what is going to work for others and vice versa.  Not having a car is not for a lot of people.  I don’t have a car and it’s one of the better decisions I’ve made for myself.  I read a lot, for a variety of reasons not the least of which is for the pleasure I derive from it.   I know people who don’t read unless there is an unavoidable necessity.  There are a few of these people in my life and I do not expect/require/desire them to devour books the way I do.  I expect/require/desire them to do things that make them happy/fulfilled/content.  There are things they enjoy (math, driving) that I find extraordinarily boring.

This is how it works, people.

People are different.  This is a good thing.  The world does not need more than one of me.  I think I’m amazing and even I know that another amazing me would be a bad thing.

There are a few things I expect from people, and now that we’re here, I think you should be aware of those expectations.

– This blog is a tiny porthole view of my world.  This means that the things shared here have some part to play in my life and you should take your cues on how to comment from my posts.  If I am incensed about something, feel free to share in that feeling or respectfully explain the other side.  I might not agree with you but as long as you don’t act like a jackass e.g. attempting to post hurtful/hateful comments, your comments will be published.  Since I have final say over which comments get published staying on my good side is a smart choice.  Thoughtful discussion= approved, being a jerk= not approved or approved and then systematically destroyed in response.  It would be great if there was just thoughtful discussion as systematic destruction takes time (see “A Strange Twist of Fate.)

– Questions are good.  Feel free to ask them.  I will try to answer them completely and honestly.  However, I reserve the right to not answer and, regardless of my reason, you do not have the right to freak out in the comments.

– You have the right to dislike my blog, to not read my blog.  I’m ok with that.  If you read it, don’t like it, and proceed to offer rude comments re: your dislike, I will take that as a sign that you are not the sharpest tool in the shed and tell you so (see first expectation.)

– While this is the faceless, nameless internet, there a people with faces and names in the background.  Remember this and act accordingly.

I hesitated during the writing of this post for a couple of reasons.  I am not in the business of policing others.  I don’t have the time, energy, or inclination to do that in real life (nor am I getting paid) so why would I change that stance for the internet?  Censorship is a thorny concept and I don’t have any bandaids. Despite this, I decided it was necessary for the simple fact that it couldn’t hurt and that way everyone involved is aware of rules.  Perhaps I am being overly cautious.  I hope that is the case.

The world continues to go around.  I spent a good portion of the day in the studio.  My teacher brought in 12 bags of porcelain and after I finished trimming I threw a bunch of pendulum pendants.  We discussed pendulum construction and I have some ideas to try out.  I continue to exhaust myself perseverating about the final show.  There is no news on any front and I no longer believe that no news is good news.  This situation has cast a melancholy pall over my day to day existence.  I am not particularly fond of this.  Try as I might, I can never completely shake it.  After fighting the good fight for 7 months, I just want a conclusion, whatever it may be, so that this part of my life can move forward.  Liminality is an unenviable state to be in.

