The Great Beyond

by theobfuscatedone

The title is in memory of my undergraduate education, where we called post-grad life “The Sea of the Great Beyond.”  There was even a mural.

Here in my post grad life I have been diligently looking for a job.  And, shock of shocks (I say shock of shocks because I have applied for quite a few, at places like Trader Joe’s [x2] and Whole foods [x2], but having ZERO retail experience and living in this economy means that there is some serious competition for those jobs and most of those competitors have more retail experience than I [not hard]), I found one.  One that, shock of even more shocks, is exactly what I want to do with my life.

Flashback!:

When I first moved to this lovely East Bay place I discovered that I lived a block away from a children’s art studio.  I went in one day just to see what it was (the fact that it sells local artisans’ work appealed to my magpie/I like shopping WAY too much nature.)  I spoke to the owner and we found, to our mutual delight, that she had just had a kiln donated and someone who could work it had just shown up on her doorstep.  She was very excited to talk to me, as I was to her, and the only thing that was standing in the way of me and teaching little kids how to get properly dirty was installation of the kiln.  It’s taken a while for the electrician to find the time (it’s going to take about 9 hours if all goes smoothly) to install the kiln.

About a week ago, I popped in, just to keep myself on her radar.  It turned out that she had just gotten word that the electrician would be available in the next few weeks and she was just about to call me.  We talked and she asked me to develop and implement the clay program at her studio.  Holy shit.

The only problem with this job is the fact that it is not immediate gratification (read: I have to get interest for the classes and people to sign up before I get paid.)  That’s a pretty big problem because I need money now.  I am still making application to various places that will pay me (3 today which brings the total for the last five days to 16.  I am working in five day increments mostly due to the fact that I am doing my best to not get overwhelmed to the point where I shut down.  That would be detrimental to my whole making money plan.) and working on getting the clay program off the ground.  If you’re interested in the clay classes (all ages are welcome!) and live in the East Bay, leave me a message in the comments and I will happily forward on the information.  You can also visit stickyartlab.com and/or email info@stickyartlab.com for more info.

And because I feel bad about the fact that I haven’t posted in ages here is a picture:

This is a teapot and cup set that the boy (oh yeah, that happened too) in my life got me for graduation. It sits in a place of honor in my apartment.

P.S.-  There are other things going on in my life (see photo caption) that I haven’t told you so there will be another post shortly re: the rest of my life.

