So, I Braised a Pork Shoulder.

by theobfuscatedone

I feel like saying, “and then I braised a pork shoulder.” makes me sound weird.  Like I’m some 1950s housewife who actually LIKES being a housewife and spends all her time looking up and cooking up tasty and nutritious recipes for her family.  Mind you, my family consists of myself and N and that’s how it’s gonna stay and I’m over educated when it comes to nutrition so there are things that are staples for most people but are non entities in our house.  That being said, I do spend a lot of time looking at recipes, I just finished a one month meal plan and shopping list, and I do genuinely enjoy the time I spend cooking.  So, I guess what I am trying to say is that I am a 21st century housegirlfriend.

As I was working on the pork shoulder, I was also talking to my friend E and I told her that I was unreasonably proud of myself for coming up with a recipe on the fly with no help from a published one.  It was a bit unseemly how giddy that made me but there you go.

Back to the main topic, braised pork shoulder.  We bought a pork shoulder even though I had my reservations (N is EXTREMELY sensitive to fat, salt, and sugar and so I try to minimize those in our diet and pork shoulder is VERY fatty.)  I had a recipe for pork shoulder but I decided that I didn’t want to make something that required me to buy more ingredients.  I wanted to be able to use what we had on hand.  And a middle eastern braised pork shoulder was born.

I browned the pork shoulder then added 3 sliced onions, about 2 inches of water, dried plums (prunes, der), dried apricots (you all know that pork pairs wonderfully with fruit, right?), some dried garlic, cumin, salt, and cinnamon.  It made the apartment smell heavenly.  I cooked it for about 4 hours, which wasn’t quite long enough for it to be fall apart-y but both N and I were hungry so we made the sacrifice.  Today I finished cooking it to fall apart-y-ness and it’s even better.  We ate it over brown rice with sauteed zucchini.  Yum.

And there you have it, my first foray into cooking a pork shoulder.  For me it was great, for N it was too fatty but he still liked it.  Live and learn.

Other Scheduled Programming:

I am STILL trying to find a job.  The approach has changed, which seems to be garnering an actual response, but it’s slow going and highly stressful for me.  I was able to get a TB test which means that I can now sub for a school here, which is helpful but I need something more.  And something more will come along, I know, it’s just I am impatient and hate the stress case I’ve become.  I worry enough as it is without having to worry about obtaining  money.

I started pottery again, which is wonderful.  Then I hurt my finger somehow.  It’s stiff and a bit swollen but hopefully it will be better tomorrow and I can get back in there and throw!

Life goes on.

