My Greatest Pet Peeve

by theobfuscatedone

I’ve been doing a lot of internet reading lately.  Social media articles, random beauty posts, etc.  What is the one thing that they all have in common?

Spelling and grammar errors.

Literally every page I’ve visited, every article I’ve read, every blog post I’ve seen has had at least one typo.  Now, you’re saying, it’s only a typo, it’s not like anybody is going to die from a typo.  True but it is greatly underestimating the reading masses to think, “hey, I’m going to publish something, I’ll just write it really fast and then post, boom, done… but wait, should I edit it?  Nah, it’s just the internet, grammar is wonky there anyway.  I mean you can use 2 to mean to so a typo or two won’t hurt anything.”  You know what I, one of the masses reading that post with a typo in it, thinks?

I think you’re a blazing idiot.  Editing isn’t that hard, in fact, spell check does most of the work for you (and let it do the work for you!  Pay attention to your spell checker!)  More than anything you’re looking for words that are words but not the right words like using form instead of what you meant, from.  That happens all the time to me.  The difference?  I take the time to reread every single word to make sure that the words on the page are the words that are meant to be there.

If you are taking the time to put your thoughts into words on a page, you should do one of two things: a) edit your own work or b) pay someone to do it for you.  Do your readers the simple courtesy of making sure your writing is the best it can be.  There are more people out there like me who immediately think less of your writing if there are typos in it.  Even websites that I visit all the time have this issue and, while I still visit them, I do get über frustrated when I see those inevitable typos.

And don’t ask me to evaluate your page if it has typos on it, I will point them out (this just recently happened.)  It is my greatest pet peeve and I will call you on it.

